Home > Apprentice Trader Journals > $ Deb Says, What is the absolute most important factor in continuous skill development in trading?

$ Deb Says, What is the absolute most important factor in continuous skill development in trading?

Throughout this past year and as I enter into a new phase in my development as a professional trader, I find myself reflecting on my learning process from past to present.  I have realized a few important points that are worthy of mention.

First as I progress in my professional trader development, I have found that at the completion of every milestone there is always a reminder to never become too comfortable with the markets. Specifically, I make a mistake following every single major advance that I make in my learning.  The result is usually a dent in my P/L and my wonderful mentors at Keystone behind me supporting my continued success.

Second, I have discovered that one can never be too comfortable with the markets and her trading. Specifically, this means that one must always be on top of her game, ready to adjust to changing conditions, and always willing to step outside her comfort zone in order to get better.

Last, there is one factor that stands out as the number one factor in continuous skill development as a professional trader. The one factor is to always identify mistakes and change what is not working. As a professional trader it is a part of the business to make mistakes, but what I believe separates those who experience success in trading and a lack of success in trading is the ability to identify and immediately act on correcting mistakes and stop doing what does not work.

 

Debbie

  1. September 3, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Well said Deb…I like the way you are approaching your new increased responsibility in share size…no more mediocre trades.

    • September 3, 2009 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks DC! Appreciate all feedback!

      Debbie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

