Home > Lessons from the trading floor > new trader poll: Please comment on your answer!

new trader poll: Please comment on your answer!

  1. Justyn Eldredge
    February 24, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I have found that I take losses on trades that ultimately go in my favor. That tells me my ideas are correct, however my patience and discipline is all over the place. My entries are not timed correctly.

  2. Carlos
    February 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Is hard to let go on a runner.dificult to know when it s going to turn

  3. Daniel Brennan
    February 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Hi Pete,
    I just don’t seem to be able tomake enough winning trades. I am not talking about big wins. I would like to be able to take more consistent small wins to get my confidence up. I am getting better at building scenarios and can look at other bids and see why they should not have been taken. I find if I am down on the first couple of trades, my confidence is shaken and it is hard to get it back. The confidence and the money. I am reasonably good at keeping the losses small, as I hate losing money. Even Yours.
    Regards,
    Dan.

  4. Nigel Miller
    February 24, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    I haven’t started trading live just yet but i reckon finding good trades will be the most difficult aspect to me starting off.

  5. February 24, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    As I noticed duting the day and also in my trading journal, the hardest part for me is not to over trade. When I’m infront of the screen I’m very calm, not anxious or euphoric and I usually have a plan/strategy and think about why I want to make this trade and also about what to do next if x-y-z happened but my plan almost never says “do nothing”. I know I have to and will work on this.

  6. Steve McMahon
    February 24, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I sure could use some help.

  7. Rabind Mariano
    February 24, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Detecting institution support (whether on the upside/downside) of a stock is the most difficult to track. Keystone’s order flow concept has brought much confidence in my trading style and passions. If it’s easy to detect on the graph, could it also give us clues on Level 2 quotes? My concern is this: How do we know if the order flow is changing? I know timing is inevitable when you trade but I prefer NOT to be the trader that gets into a position when the “game-is-all-over.” Many time I find it difficult to decipher whether were still in profit potential trades or when it all over.

  8. Sean O'Neill
    February 24, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Not been decisive on first move of the day. The most important one.

  9. Mickey
    February 24, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I have no trouble identifying a very good scenario and then entering the trade. My profits suffer as each time I don’t take the first momtentum move as profit and opt to hold for a larger move the follow through fails.Your lunch time talk helped alot today as I was struggling with the questions of ; ” take what is available 10-20 cents”,” hold because how else to learn without doing”, ” not take scenarios of 10-20 because that’s not the trades we want (which leads to no trades and no profits). Now after today, if I understood correctly, we are to be creating scenarios for larger profts when they are available; yet if they are not or once the opportunity of trend has gone for the day we then switch to structured well defined test trades.

  10. jhulin
    February 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    All of the options to choose from seem to fall together; they are all interelated. I tend to have a lot of energy and that is sometimes transposed into my trading. The slow/monotonous days are a struggle for me sometimes because I want to do something and be in the game when it may not be a smart thing. I know this and work on it.

  11. William Kommaiko
    February 24, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    Nice idea. More things like this please.

  12. sam carpenter
    February 25, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Trying to work with you overseas. My trading has immediately improved due to your coaching. I can see it in my positioning, my analysis and so forth. But the most important thing for me is your emailing heads up strategies. This works for me.

  13. John Cavanagh
    February 25, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Currently this is where I see my difficult with trading.

  14. February 25, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    more of the same with each new round of hope and disappointment for EU debt resolution

  15. Thomas Fahy
    February 26, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    When trade turns against me i dont kick it out quickly enough ,am unsure of the point where you should hold on because this is a normal pause/pullback or it is a swing high/low.Am inclined too much towards thinking the trend will come back in the direction i entered.

  16. sam carpenter
    March 6, 2010 at 3:49 am

    As I wait for the breakout on an up day, sometimes the consolidation fools me into thinking that the move is over. Just yesterday, as I exited the position a few cents in the red, and licked my chops, the stock blasted off within five minutes upwards by thirty cents. It was then realized the momentum was built off the fifteen minute chart with high volume many bars ago fueling the move. I drew a trendline from the support levels and hunkered down for the long haul. The wait seemed endless as the bars flirted around this support for what seemed eternity. Then however, it reached its objective 40cents higher. What empowerment!

    Looking back, I realize that I do several things differently now than I had before my exposure to Keystone and Pete. One, I am more conservative with the amount of shares. Two, I look for reasonable entry points. Three, I check broader indexes consistently. Four, I look at multiple time frames for larger reference and consider the general economic climate. Finally, I realize that if my belief system is right, I should be OK and my base of knowledge is my comfort zone and confidence level.

    Next time I will consider increasing position at support levels which could effectively increase my return 50%.

    So far, my trading is looking great after years of judo-like flips to my psyche and trading psychology.

  17. qamar s.
    March 15, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I checked holding on to trades for bigger moves. But 2 key points was revealed after I studied my P&L:
    – I needed to understand that the small share sizes i had, impacted my profits and my poor decisions to
    hold too long.
    – and then holding so long that my stocks went in the red, i.e. not taking proper losses.

    So I am learning to take in-depth analysis of what I am risking along with making scenarios of potential profits.
    And also the importance of how to build up share size. Along with my entries being decent, these awareness have improved my confidence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment